I called alone but

Ask questions, discuss and debate your strategies, euchre polls and more
Post Reply
User avatar
DreamboatPat
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 10:40 pm

I called alone but

Post by DreamboatPat » Sun Apr 22, 2018 10:55 pm

I called alone but my partner played a card. What, if any, is the penalty for this? Is it still considered a loner

TIA, Pat



User avatar
Locasta
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 9:41 am

Post by Locasta » Tue Apr 24, 2018 10:03 am

I don't think it would still be a loner.

irishwolf
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 9:33 pm

Post by irishwolf » Tue Apr 24, 2018 9:52 pm

The rule (law) is, if you call a loner and your partner plays a card, it nullifies you going alone. Opponents can require your partner to play. However, if you win all the tricks you are awarded two points. Here's the rule as quoted:

"Should a player announce that he will play alone, and his partner play upon the first lead, the player loses his right to play the hand alone, and must play it with his partner, unless his adversaries elect that he play it alone."

Additionally, if you are playing in a tournament, be sure to read their 'local' rules as sometimes it is treated as an exposed card, awarding opponents with two points.

User avatar
DreamboatPat
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 10:40 pm

Post by DreamboatPat » Thu Apr 26, 2018 9:16 am

I play with a group of people and we were not sure how to handle this. Thanks Irishwolf for your reply and clearing that up.

Pat

Post Reply