Bad luck or poor play?

Ask questions, discuss and debate your strategies, euchre polls and more
Post Reply
Posts: 751
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 8:57 pm
Location: Florida

Bad luck or poor play?

Unread post by Richardb02 » Wed Aug 25, 2021 9:01 pm

Posts: 232
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2018 7:04 am

Unread post by jspectre » Wed Aug 25, 2021 10:47 pm

There's certainly some discussion to be had about the pass/call and whether it was played optimally from the maker's position, but all of that aside, S3 leading the spade back instead of leading diamonds again, when the maker was void, and spades was the turned down suit, is simply a horrible play. Leading a diamond again when 2nd plays after the dealer carries a risk, but it's far more dangerous to lead a spade, a suit the maker could very well have a doubleton of. Now, if 3rd thought it was impossible for the dealer to have a second spade, because they didn't play the doubleton next suit, the suit the dealer turned down, after their trump lead, then I could forgive 3rd for making that judgement, although I'm around 99.9% sure that's not the case here.

Wes (aka the legend)
Posts: 1542
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 3:03 pm

Unread post by Wes (aka the legend) » Thu Aug 26, 2021 3:09 am

Without an ace to promote, there's no good reason for S1 to lead trump and break up his A-J. The last thing S1 should want from this configuration is for his team to blow two trump in one lead. Instead lead the non-turned down suit, the QH, and take it from there. Also, given that S1 did lead trump, the QH is now the wrong lead on trick 2. With trump already led, S1 should lead the turned down suit as that is the suit his P is most likely boss in.

Posts: 824
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:14 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Unread post by Tbolt65 » Fri Sep 03, 2021 7:59 pm

If you are going to lead trump here You have to lead a spade back since it was spade that was turned down. Other wise lead your Queen of hearts here and Keep your Right ace together and let your partner in for some help.


Post Reply