A question regarding an exposed discard

Ask questions, discuss and debate your strategies, euchre polls and more
Post Reply
User avatar
Site Admin
Posts: 672
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2018 10:08 pm
Location: Ohio

A question regarding an exposed discard

Unread post by Dlan » Sat Apr 21, 2018 10:00 pm

Couple of weeks ago our Euchre club had an incident of an exposed card. What had happened was the dealer had picked the up card and in his attempt to discard one card from his hand. The discard card he attempted to slide under the Kitty caught something probably the cards on the table (Kitty) and the discard flipped and now is exposed to all.
What is the appropriate penalty for this which must be considered an infraction. I see nothing as basic as flashing or accidently exposing one’s discard but no where in any book of Hoyle Rules.

Posts: 11
Joined: Sat May 26, 2018 12:33 am

Unread post by Don » Sun May 27, 2018 10:26 pm

The simple answer is the hand should be re-dealt.

From the book ' The Law and Practice of the Game of Euchre (1862) '

Chapter 6
Law 5. If a card is faced, or is turned in dealing unless it is the twenty-first, or trump card, the pack must be shuffled anew and a fresh deal made; but the dealer does not lose his privilege. Should the dealer show more than one card in turning up the trump card the deal is likewise void, and he must deal anew

While this does not specially mention the discard, it has to be assumed the rule would apply to any card.

Posts: 1316
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 9:33 pm

Unread post by irishwolf » Sat Jun 02, 2018 9:33 am

There is no rule covering what should be done when exposing cards of the stock (kitty) - going back 150 years. Common sense would indicate if his side made trump, then he Redeals. If he was ordered and opponents made trump, all then know the cards and the hand should stand as is - Play out the Hand.

However, if the dealer exposed his discard, there is also no penalty because he is at a disadvantage = PLAY ON!


Post Reply