tournament scoring clarification question

Ask questions, discuss and debate your strategies, euchre polls and more
Post Reply
cardplayinggal
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2023 2:42 pm

tournament scoring clarification question

Unread post by cardplayinggal » Sat Feb 18, 2023 3:03 pm

When playing deal around table 2 times per person, do you still play until 10, so not everyone could deal, or do you continue with adding points? Ex. 8 deals and one team gets 2 points each deal - do they stop after getting 10 points or would they get 16 points?
Also, if tie after 8 deals, do they play one more hand to determine winner?



irishwolf
Posts: 1321
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 9:33 pm

Unread post by irishwolf » Sat Feb 18, 2023 4:24 pm

TOURNAMENTS RULES!

There are generally, two types of Euchre tournaments. One is called a Singles Tournament where you change partners after a round of 8 deals. Each player gets two deals regardless of the points scored. This type of tournament is all about total points. If both sides are tied in points - , you move on to the next round. 8 deals is it!

The second type if tournament is Partner Tournament where you have a partner and play a Tens Game. This is about wining games, first to 10 wins the game.

In your post, it appears you mixed the two types. They are totally differnt.

I believe this OE site has rules for both - look it up for rules of play!

IRISH

irishwolf
Posts: 1321
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 9:33 pm

Unread post by irishwolf » Sun Feb 19, 2023 11:07 am

This for the OE website administer:

When I clicked on the tab 'Euchre Rules', then paging down to: "Looking to hold a euchre tournament." What came up was Errors in playing hands, Page 2.

So not helpful in explaining how to run a tournament?

Catch10110
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2018 12:50 pm
Location: Aurora, IL

Unread post by Catch10110 » Thu Mar 30, 2023 12:34 pm

cardplayinggal wrote:
Sat Feb 18, 2023 3:03 pm
When playing deal around table 2 times per person, do you still play until 10, so not everyone could deal, or do you continue with adding points? Ex. 8 deals and one team gets 2 points each deal - do they stop after getting 10 points or would they get 16 points?
16 points for this. 10 points is meaningless in tournaments like this.
Also, if tie after 8 deals, do they play one more hand to determine winner?
Depends on tournament rules. "Winning" a game usually only determines which players move to a different table (losers), and which players stay (winners). In the case of a tie, you don't typically play another hand; you tiebreak another way. In my experience, the "winning" team is usually the team that got to the final score first. You could draw for high cards, flip a coin, or whatever else you want.

Post Reply