What Would You Lead Here?

Ask questions, discuss and debate your strategies, euchre polls and more
inglewoodjack

What Would You Lead Here?

Unread post by inglewoodjack » Wed Aug 25, 2021 9:09 am

Sitting in 1st seat, I hold (Card_J-C) (Card_10-S) (Card_9-S) (Card_A-H) (Card_9-H).
Dealer turns up (Card_A-S).
I order dealer up.
I lead (Card_9-S) , dealer takes trick with (Card_A-S).
I make a point, but partner disagreed with my lead and how I played it.

knglenny

Unread post by knglenny » Wed Aug 25, 2021 10:46 am

Let me preface this with the fact that I am a newb. But I think you played it correctly based on your hand.

Play it out, worst case scenario, dealer has Js and now takes 1st street with As followed by Js. You still have Jc to trump in a can come home with heart heart.

Another tough play is seat 2 has Js+another spade, knowing dealer has As, if I was in this situation I would throw a lower trump and hold the Js.

Also bad is if seat 2 has Js and dealer has the ace protected, but you still have the left and throw after dealer so I think you are in good shape.

If you lead Jc it opens up some tough scenarios. Basically what I outlined above, but now you have the two lowest trump and an Ace to try to pull out a point.

Edit: Maybe this is the wrong thinking, but I believe most of the time you have to play for the point instead of taking a high risk play for 2. Sometimes that isn't the case, but without knowing the score I think this was the right play here

inglewoodjack

Unread post by inglewoodjack » Wed Aug 25, 2021 1:57 pm

jspectre

Unread post by jspectre » Wed Aug 25, 2021 5:39 pm