Going alone on Left, Q, 10, 9 and a side Ace...

Ask questions, discuss and debate your strategies, euchre polls and more
akdas1119

Going alone on Left, Q, 10, 9 and a side Ace...

Unread post by akdas1119 » Thu May 24, 2018 12:22 pm

Hello,

I played at this restaurant/bar, and my partner said he has been playing Euchre ever since he was young. (I started playing a few years ago (online) and recently took the “Main” Euchre quiz and scored only 68%. The result said that was average, although I am sure on the “low end” of average).

The dealer turned down a diamond. In seat 1, I went alone in clubs... I had 4 trump (LEFT, QUEEN, 10, 9) and ACE OF HEARTS. I lead the LEFT. My opponent had the remaining 3 trumps (RIGHT, ACE, KING), took the trick and I was euchred. In this group, if you get euchred on a lone, the opposing team gets 4 points. Even though it is very improbable that my opponent would have those 3 cards, my partner got mad at me and yelled at me and said his family would skin me alive for such a mistake. Should I have played it safer and played the QUEEN first......?

Thanks,
Ashis

Play2Win

Unread post by Play2Win » Thu May 24, 2018 1:59 pm

Having 4 trump leaves the location of the other three unknown. When you call alone there are nine cards that are out of play. The chances that all three were in one opponents hand were slim. Euchre is a game where an aggressive player normally comes out on top. In the hand you describe card distribution was against you. That happens sometimes.

You made the right call. I would have called the same. All good players get euchred, even when calling alone, good partners understand this.

Jeepster

Unread post by Jeepster » Sat May 26, 2018 9:31 pm